Laguna city, the place and time: a look in the light of history
March 2015
 Archeological records indicate human presence for more than six thousand years ago near to the mouth of the basin of Tubarão river, south coastline of Santa Catarina State. A region characterized by extensive flat area formed of lake, wind and colluvial accumulations; area that has in its upper limit to, in the east the predominance of small hills and beaches, and in the northwest, the presence of mountains and high undulations caused by the strong erosion during the Quaternary period, as well as resulted from climatic influences and changes the sea level.
 Geomorphology formed by beaches, dunes, mangroves, salt marshes, estuaries, lakes and lagoons, hills and mountains, a confluence of physical and natural elements of rare beauty; scenario that forms the historic of Laguna city: valuable National Historic Landmark. A place predestined to be part of world history long before even its foundation or the arrival of European explorers. Read more »
 History that is a result of a panorama that begins its formation around by the early of the fifteenth century. Period when the need for expansion of Western European business, in a way had a saturated market, and the vast wealth accumulated by European traders, starts a search for new ways to respond to the market demands; which at that time focused on obtaining precious minerals such as gold, silver and diamonds. Undeniably face the challenges of the ocean was an important barrier to be overcome in the way of new achievements. The lack of knowledge about the unknown resistance established by the navigators, which avoided venture out overseas, and as a precaution usually stayed close to the coast.
 In this sense and in order to meet experienced navigators to transmit their knowledge and undertake new researches, was established in 1417 the Nautical School of Sagres, in Algarve, southernmost region of mainland Portugal. At that time, however, the Spaniards faced difficulties, basically because they have no unified government and have the presence of Arabs in the south of its territory.
 The purpose of Portuguese and Spanish was to establish a new route to the Orient by sea. That's when the need arises to be established a treaty between Portugal and Spain; fact which was consolidated with the Treaty of Alcáçovas, signed in 1480, which designated to Portugal the lands of the south of Canary Islands, as well as the shipping route through southern Africa to reach the Indies. The Spaniards, felt prejudiced and appealed to Pope Alexander VI which in May 4, 1493 issued a document called Bula Inter Caetera , which otherwise established an imaginary line 100 leagues distant from the African archipelago of Cape Verde, defining the division of the New World: the west of this the line belonging to Spain and east to Portugal. The terms of this document upset the Portuguese Crown.
 To solve this problem, was negotiated in the Spanish town of Tordesillas a new agreement between the two Iberian countries. Edited on June 7, 1494, it increased the Portuguese lands for a distance of up to 370 leagues west of the Cape Verdean island of Santo Antão. This Treaty precedes in just under six years the arrival of the first Portuguese expedition to the Brazilian coast, but already sets the southern boundary that which would become de St. Anthony of Angels of Laguna village, belonged to the Captaincy of Santana.
 It was on July 29, 1676 when the bandeirante Domingos de Brito Peixoto arrive to the area and founded the village, honoring it with the name of the saint of his devotion: St. Anthony. He became the third city in Santa Catarina State, which at the request of the king of Portugal, its installation was designed to expand the boundary beyond the Treaty of Tordesillas. The town thus became a starting point of expeditions, and over time it became populated and organized. The largest colonizers flows occurred in mid 1740 with Portuguese of the Azores, later in the first half of the nineteenth century with the Portuguese called of the mainland, and between 1748 and 1756 with the arrival of Azorean immigrants.
 They were years of intense territorial dispute between Portugal and Spain, which required the establishment of new limits for their achievements. It was when on October 1, 1777 is signed the Treaty of San Ildefonso, a new agreement that restores the property of the colonies required in South America. This treaty grants to Portugal: Colonia del Sacramento, Missions, left margin of the Uruguay river and the sovereignty over the River Plate, while Spain restitutes Santa Catarina Island. An agreement that somehow reaffirms the constant points of the Treaty of Madrid (1750).
 At that time, the socio-economic prominence of Laguna city becomes increasingly significant, and reaches its peak with the construction of the port in 1839, turning the quiet village of hitherto in a revolutionary scenario; fact that culminates in an attempt to separate the Rio Grande do Sul and Santa Catarina from the Empire command. And so, on July 29, 1839 is proclaimed the Santa Catarina Republic or Juliana Republic, an extension of the Farroupilha Revolution. This achievement lasted until November 15, 1839 when the naval battle took place in Laguna battle, that imperialists get victory over republicans. In this period important personages like the Italian Giuseppe Garibaldi, David Canabarro and Teixeira Nunes among others appear in front of these battles.
 In this period also appears, with her only 18 years of age, the heroic figure of Ana Maria de Jesus Ribeiro, born in Santa Catarina State. A woman of strong character and great determination that fell in love with Garibaldi and decided to follow him in his battles. They married in Uruguay two and half years later, becoming known as Anita Garibaldi. They had four children and they have fought in combat for Santa Catarina, Rio Grande do Sul, Uruguay and Italy; living together until her death at 27, in the Italian city of Mandriole di Ravenna. Anita repeatedly demonstrated her warrior value, and is well known to participate in Laguna battle, when she crossed the channel numerous times, taking in a small rowboat, ammunition and weapons in full shooting. She became known as the Heroine of Two Worlds for her achievements in Brazil and Italy.
 In 1847, Laguna was elevated to city status by an Imperial Decree; and as the years passed a visible economic and social growth was seen in the city, making it bigger in the last decades of the nineteenth century, mainly as a result of its port handling. In that period occurred remarkable facts: from the year 1875 the arrival of Italian immigrants that came to colonize the southern of Santa Catarina State; from 1880 the start of construction of Tereza Cristina railway, which was completed in 1884; and in the early of 1890, the construction of Santa Marta Lighthouse, inaugurated on June 11, 1891.
 But it was by the turn of the century, in more recent history, the significant urban and cultural development took place in the city. This was reflected for example in new buildings as: residential, commercial, theater, cinema, newspaper, hospital, hotel; public lighting, public market, the construction of the library, among many others. Many of them still exist and are preserved in the Historic Centre, proving some of that golden age of the city. Between the decades from 1930 to 1950 great transformations occurred with the emergence of the first urban cars and buses, with cobbled streets, with the transfer of the port to the current location, as well as the train transfer to the end to Campo de Fora. At the end of the 1950s, there was a reduction in the port activity caused by the creation of the port of Imbituba, with capacity for larger vessels. In the 1960s, the construction of the BR-101 highway, and the construction of the bridge of the locality of Cabeçuda, caused the displacement of the economic sector out of town. Fact that began to be restored from the 1970s with the increase of tourism, port activities as well as new business. Strategies that have resulted in large development of the municipality and the population; characterized in its high HDI, Human Development Index, in the last decades.
 A rich history! History of many stories.
 A story built with fears and courages, where great navigators who landed their ships there, allow us to establish a relationship with the legendary words spoken in Latin by the Roman general Pompey the Great (106-48 BC) to the frightened sailors that refused to travel during the war: "Navigare necesse; vivere non est necesse". Expression in which the Portuguese poet Fernando Pessoa (1888-1935), in his poem “Navegar é Preciso” (Sailing is necessary), offering us: "Navegar é preciso; viver não é preciso” (something like: sailing is accurate, living living is inaccurate). Expressions that make us think about. how much should be accurate navigate, and how much is not accurate to live.
 And I allow myself to think about how these expressions make sense when we think that at the end of the fifteenth century, in the city of Tordesillas, when it was defined an imaginary line 370 leagues from Cape Verde, were those Sirs established with "accuracy" to the navigators, a place which would be the Captaincy of Santana. And that in its southern end it, in a place of rare beauty - perhaps also be a point of inflection between the rugged coastline to the north and the open seas to the south -, would result to place St. Anthony of Angels of Laguna village. And despite the expansionist aims of the Portuguese Crown, how much was not possible to predict the unfolding events that happened there. That is, how much was "inaccurate" na anticipated definition of the real story that would happen there; on the life story of their personages: those who were already there, and those who came and would come to be. A discussion of the past and the future: its predictability and its imponderability; the historical relationship of spacetime. The story with their events, dates and personages that there left their marks and their feelings. Feelings that were and will be kept forever as images, in an admirable space of nature permeated by unusual meeting of so many elements: salt, marshes, hills, sand, dunes, heat, wind, beaches, canal, piers, rivers, mangroves, shell middens, fauna, flora, lakes, lagoons, and sea.
 Ah, the sea! The endless sea ... One that proposes us the poetry of nature's elements, that eliminate the traces, which holds the visible and invisible dynamics of life, one that brings and takes, one that gives and takes. That one which has the waves. Waves that move the vessels, that bring people and their food, that come into the port. Port which gives security: where the future comes. One guided by a light of hope, as the lonely light of a distant lighthouse; that stands proudly over the top of its promontory; that guide the ships, which gives the direction that guides men; men holding story.
 I take my imaginary thoughts up to the highest point: to the hill of Glory. I direct my eyes to the ocean; I only see the infinite: the infinite sea. I do not see traces, but I know they exist. I look down and watch more closely: the tracks are there, through tortuous ways and streets: pathways. They are pathways that have been shared by women and men, children and families, friends and neighbors, merchants and goods, marches and processions, religious and pagan festivals, rain and wind, wars and peace; streets that intersect theirselves in irregular sidewalk stones, conscious records of an visible-invisible unconscious. That perhaps carry an intimate and concrete essence of the feelings that were there over time. And which were gradually giving way to other feelings; other men and women who continue writing their stories. Stories that join with other and other stories, and that will form the great story of what is to be human.
 This photographic work was carried out since 2012 on trips to Laguna city. They were trips where I had the opportunity to learn about its historical and cultural heritage, interact with its people, make friends, and experience a bit more of people's lives. More than knowledge of books and information that supported me in my researches, walk inside the life of this city, so rich in beauty, history and culture, gave me an even greater learning about my own history.
 I do here my honor and my obeisance to the great personages who built with their personal journeys, the great history of this city and southern Brazil too. That history immortalized in the Latin words of the historian Afonso d'Escragnolle Taunay, when he created the Coat of Arms of Laguna: ”AD MERIDIEM BRASILIAN DVXI” (“To the south, the Brazil I took”); that in essence symbolizes the important and decisive role of brave people from this city, not only in the emancipation of conflict in the southern region, but also in the history of national expansion process towards the River Plate.
 And as a form of retribution, I offer these images to the valuable people of the city of Laguna, for their strength and bravery, which gives great pride to the people of Santa Catarina, as well as the affection I get when I'm there.
Special thanks:
- To my father, Oduvaldo Florentino Machado, for the good memories about the Laguna city's history.
- To my friend João Francisco Marques de Carvalho, from Florianópolis, for sharing much of his historical knowledge.
- To psychologist Ana Cláudia Judice Alleotti for her wise words.
- To my friend Jorge Manuel Ferreira Pinto, from Póvoa de Varzim, Portugal, for his contributions about Portuguese culture.
- To architect Leonardo Fernandes Pascoal, President of Cultural Foundation of Laguna.
- To Mrs. Zenaida Silva, Director of the Laguna Museums, and her working group: Rômulo Souza, João Rodolfo Lopes Pereira, Marco Antônio Costa Botelho and Solange Paschoal Araújo.
- At Laguna City Hall: Thiago Laurindo, Norton De Araújo Mattos, Wellington Linhares Martins Maria Gorete Alves Cardoso Fão.
- To Professor Airton Bento Machado for accompanying to me during the photos of the ruins of Atalaia Fort, the historical informations he gave me, and the suggestions about the books of the historian Wolfgang Ludwig Rau.
- To engineer Jerferson Machado Alves for his guidance during the visit to the ruins of Atalaia Fort.
Information about history and culture of Laguna city can be found at Cultural Foundation of Laguna, phone +55 (48) 3646-2542.
Laguna Geo Code: 28° 28' 54" S 48° 46' 56" W
"Authorization for Use of Image": It was conceded by Laguna City Hall the use of external and internal images of the Anita Garibaldi Historic Museum and House of Anita Museum, by this site as Authorization for Use of Image Term by Administrative Proceeding No. 1919/2015 of March 9, 2015.
- Ulysséa, Ruben; Laguna: memória histórica; Letra Ativa publisher; Brasília, 2004.
- Dall’Alba, Pe. João Leonir; Laguna antes de 1880; Lunardelli publisher; Florianópolis, 1976.
- Saint-Hilaire, Auguste de, 1779 - 1853; Viagem a Curitiba e Santa Catarina; preface Mário G. Ferri; trnslation Regina Regis Junqueira - Belo Horizonte; Itatiaia publisher; São Paulo; São Paulo University publisher, 1978.
- Avé-Lallemant, Robert, 1812-1884; Viagens pelas províncias de Santa Catarina, Paraná e São Paulo (1858); tradução Teodoro Cabral. - Belo Horizonte; Itatiaia publisher; São Paulo; São Paulo University publisher, 1980.
- Rau, Wolfgang Ludwig, 1916-2009; Anita Garibaldi; o perfil de uma heroína brasileira; Edeme; Florianópolis, 1975.
- Cittadin, Ana P.; Laguna, paisagem e preservação: o patrimônio cultural e natural do município; Master Dissertation; Federal University of Santa Catarina; Florianópolis, 2010.
- Staub, José Raul; Uma Viagem de Laguna a Tordesilhas; Florianópolis, 2004.
- Tavares, Eduardo; Pharol de Santa Martha: Laguna, SC; Porto Alegre: Pacartes, 2010, Produção da Lumen Comunicação.
- Guedes Júnior, Valmir; Porto da Laguna: a luta de um povo traído; Florianópolis, 1994.
- Folder: Guia Turístico “Um passeio rumo aos encantos de Laguna, Santa Catarina”.
- Duclós, Nei; Laguna - Obra e Paisagem; 1st edition; Expressão publisher; Florianópolis, 2011.
- Gell, Alfred; Antropologia do Tempo: Construções Culturais de Mapas e Imagens Temporais; Vozes; Petrópolis, 2014.
- Naranjo, Juan; Fotografía, Antropología y Colonialismo (1845-2006); Editorial Gustavo Gili, SL; Barcelona, 2006.
- Eliade, Mircea; O Sagrado e o Profano: a essência das religiões; 3rd edition; WMF Martins Fontes publisher; São Paulo, 2010.
- Bachelard, Gaston; A Poética do Espaço; 2nd edition; Martins Fontes publisher; São Paulo, 2008.
- Kossoy, Boris; Os tempos da Fotografia: o Efêmero e o Perpétuo; Ateliê Editorial; Cotia, São Paulo, 2007.
- Jung, Carl G.; O Homem e seus Símbolos; 16th edition; Nova Fronteira publisher; Rio de Janeiro.
- City Information: www.laguna.sc.gov.br/
- Master Plan of the City, Phase 1: http://www.laguna.sc.gov.br/plano_diretor/v2/CODESC_F1_LAGUNA_LEVANTAMENTOS.pdf
- Master Plan of the City, Phase 2: http://www.laguna.sc.gov.br/plano_diretor/v2/CODESC_F2_LAGUNA_ANALISE.pdf
- Information about Santa Marta Lighthouse: http://www.mar.mil.br/dellaguna/sinalizacao.htm
- Information about Laguna Fishing Terminal: http://www.terminalpesqueiro.com.br/
- Information about Atalaia Fort: http://www.revistacanteiro.com/#!fresta-2/c1cml
- Archaeological sites of Santa Catarina: https://leiaufsc.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/2-2a-rohr-j-a-sc3adtios-arqueolc3b3gicos-de-santa-catarina.pdf
- "Anita e Garibaldi" film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G84Bc2WCNoc
- "Anita Heroína dos Dois Mundos" film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d7ihma9DI_s
- "Anita Garibaldi" film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ha3fLrEeF_M
- "Maestro Heinz Geyer, 2010" film, from 33:34 to 37:05: https://vimeo.com/90200444
- "Salve Regina" of the "Anita Garibaldi" opera, conductor Mr. Heinz Geyer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KK0fUGoUT9U
- “Os Açores de Madredeus” film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dddhv75qRjU
Title: Candemil family house Description: It was built in the late 19th century as a house of a Portuguese farm style. In 1985 became the residence of the Candemil family, who left it at the end of the 80s. Currently it keeps the Municipal Public Archives. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-087
Title: Santa Marta Chapel interior Description: It was built in 1946 by Brazil Navy. It has 38 square meters and is located on the same promontory of Santa Marta Lighthouse. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-227
Title: Francisco de Brito Peixoto: "Conqueror of Rio Grande do Sul" Description: Together with his father Domingos de Brito Peixoto, was the founder of St. Anthony of Angels of Laguna Village in 1684, and later, explorer and discoverer of the fields of Rio Grande do Sul. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-159
Title: Fisherman Description: Fishing at Imaruí Lagoon, locality of Cabeçuda. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/03/2012
Nº 009-012
Title: Detail of the Portuguese architecture Description: Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-198
Title: Angel Gabriel Description: Sculpture in wood, 2006, by Werner Thaler from Treze Tílias, Santa Catarina State. Collection of St. Anthony of Angels Church. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-203
Title:Cine Mussi Description: Designed by the Swiss architect Wolfgang Ludwig Rau at the request of Mr. João Mussi, it began to be built on April 4, 1947 and was inaugurated in December 17, 1950, with the screening of the film: The Emperor Waltz. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-213
Title: City scenes Description: City centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-047
Title: Portuguese architecture of Anita Garibaldi Museum Description: It was the first building erected for the foundation of the Village. Its construction took place in the year 1735. In the 18th century became the Town Hall and jail. It was the place where in 1839 was proclaimed the Republic of Santa Catarina. From 1949 became a museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-149
Title: Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception Description: Oil on canvas, 1856, by Victor Meirelles. Collection of St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-057
Title: Last Supper Description: Oil on canvas. Unknown author. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-178
Title: Old decorative objects Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-190
Title: Architecture Description: Historic centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-079
Title: Detail of Candemil family house Description: It was built in the late 19th century as a house of a Portuguese farm style. In 1985 became the residence of the Candemil family, who left it at the end of the 80s. Currently it keeps the Municipal Public Archives. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-091
Title: Facade of the Church Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-063
Title: Detail of the Cine Mussi architecture Description: Designed by the Swiss architect Wolfgang Ludwig Rau at the request of Mr. João Mussi, it began to be built on April 4, 1947 and was inaugurated in December 17, 1950, with the screening of the film: The Emperor Waltz. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-212
Title: Balcony railing Description: Museu Anita Garibaldi architecture style. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-182
Title: Our Lady of Conception Description: Sculpture in wood, 2006, by Werner Thaler from Treze Tílias, Santa Catarina State. Collection of St. Anthony of Angels Church. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-202
Title: Barra rock jetties Description: Region of the rock jetties where Santo Antônio dos Anjos lagoon reaches into the Atlantic Ocean. Behind it is possible seeing the city of Laguna and Glory hill. North rock jetties have approximately 1,500 meters long, while the South rock jetties have 900 meters. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-273
Title: Detail of the Public Market (before revitalization) Description: Public Market is located in the city centre, and was inaugurated in 1958. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-042
Title: St. Anthony patron of the city Description: This sculpture was carved by Antonio José de Santai in 1803. It lies on the main altar of the St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-067
Title: Old decorative objects Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-193
Title: Details of Anita's House Museum Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-107
Title: Aspects of Prainha do Farol Description: Locality of Santa Marta Lighthouse. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-230
Title:Carioca fountain Description: It was built in 1863 and expanded in 1906. According to historians it was the water from this place that led to the location of the city by its founder. Until today the population uses this water to drink. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-134
Title: Car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-269
Title: Detail of old trunk Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-183
Title: Anchored canoe Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-026
Title: Detail of window of Candemil family house Description: It was built in the late 19th century as a house of a Portuguese farm style. In 1985 became the residence of the Candemil family, who left it at the end of the 80s. Currently it keeps the Municipal Public Archives. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-090
Title: Plaques of thanksgiving to Our Lady of Grace Description: These plates were placed by faithful people at the base of the sculpture of Our Lady of Grace. This monument was built by the German sculptor Alfredo Staege, it was inaugurated on May 31, 1953. Considered the largest of its kind in Brazil, it is located in the Hill of Glory, which in the past was known as Atalaia Hill or Pau do Sinal, is the highest point of Laguna city (126 meters). This image is on a pedestal of 4 meters, having 10 meters high and 4.8 meters between the arms. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-125
Title: Detail of the Church Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-070
Title: Facade of the Church Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-062
Title: Our Lady of Glory Description: Built by the German sculptor Alfredo Staege, it was inaugurated on May 31, 1953. Considered the largest of its kind in Brazil, it is located in the Hill of Glory, which in the past was known as Atalaia Hill or Pau do Sinal, is the highest point of Laguna city (126 meters). This image is on a pedestal of 4 meters, having 10 meters high and 4.8 meters between the arms. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-117
Title: Plaques of thanksgiving to Our Lady of Grace Description: These plates were placed by faithful people at the base of the sculpture of Our Lady of Grace. This monument was built by the German sculptor Alfredo Staege, it was inaugurated on May 31, 1953. Considered the largest of its kind in Brazil, it is located in the Hill of Glory, which in the past was known as Atalaia Hill or Pau do Sinal, is the highest point of Laguna city (126 meters). This image is on a pedestal of 4 meters, having 10 meters high and 4.8 meters between the arms. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-121
Title: Detail of Cemetery Description: Cemetery located on a small promontory of Santa Marta Lighthouse, next to Santa Marta Chapel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-224
Title: Plaques of thanksgiving to Our Lady of Grace Description: These plates were placed by faithful people at the base of the sculpture of Our Lady of Grace. This monument was built by the German sculptor Alfredo Staege, it was inaugurated on May 31, 1953. Considered the largest of its kind in Brazil, it is located in the Hill of Glory, which in the past was known as Atalaia Hill or Pau do Sinal, is the highest point of Laguna city (126 meters). This image is on a pedestal of 4 meters, having 10 meters high and 4.8 meters between the arms. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-122
Title: Detail of architecture of the Carioca fountain Description: It was built in 1863 and expanded in 1906. According to historians it was the water from this place that led to the location of the city by its founder. Until today the population uses this water to drink. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-132
Title: Car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-263
Title: Kerosene lamp Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-098
Title: Detail of Cemetery Description: Cemetery located on a small promontory of Santa Marta Lighthouse, next to Santa Marta Chapel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-226
Title: Detail of Carniça I Shellmound Description: Situated in the locality of Campo Verde, about 14 km from the city centre, this shellmound originally had a base of approximately 400 meters and 70 meters wide, with an elevation of 30 meters high. For many years it was exploited by private persons in the manufacture of lime. Currently only left its base with a height of up to about five meters high. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-244
Title: Details of Anita's House Museum Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-099
Title: Old houses Description: Historic centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-084
Title: Our Lady of Glory (back) Description: Built by the German sculptor Alfredo Staege, it was inaugurated on May 31, 1953. Considered the largest of its kind in Brazil, it is located in the Hill of Glory, which in the past was known as Atalaia Hill or Pau do Sinal, is the highest point of Laguna city (126 meters). This image is on a pedestal of 4 meters, having 10 meters high and 4.8 meters between the arms. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-120
Title: Plaques of thanksgiving to Our Lady of Grace Description: These plates were placed by faithful people at the base of the sculpture of Our Lady of Grace. This monument was built by the German sculptor Alfredo Staege, it was inaugurated on May 31, 1953. Considered the largest of its kind in Brazil, it is located in the Hill of Glory, which in the past was known as Atalaia Hill or Pau do Sinal, is the highest point of Laguna city (126 meters). This image is on a pedestal of 4 meters, having 10 meters high and 4.8 meters between the arms. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-124
Title:Carioca fountain Description: It was built in 1863 and expanded in 1906. According to historians it was the water from this place that led to the location of the city by its founder. Until today the population uses this water to drink. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-137
Title: Candemil family house Description: It was built in the late 19th century as a house of a Portuguese farm style. In 1985 became the residence of the Candemil family, who left it at the end of the 80s. Currently it keeps the Municipal Public Archives. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-089
Title: 7th Station of the Cross: Jesus falls the second time Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-053
Title: Pinto D'Ulyssea House Description: Built in 1866, inspired by a Portuguese farm, covered with Portuguese tiles, is a rare example of Luso-Brazilian architecture. It was an important farm house, the first to own platband in the city. This important building, tumbled by the National Historic and Artistic Heritage - IPHAN, belonged to Joaquim José Pinto d'Ulyssea; and currently holds the Garibaldino Collection of Wolfgang Ludwig Rau. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-141
Title: Detail of Carniça I Shellmound Description: Situated in the locality of Campo Verde, about 14 km from the city centre, this shellmound originally had a base of approximately 400 meters and 70 meters wide, with an elevation of 30 meters high. For many years it was exploited by private persons in the manufacture of lime. Currently only left its base with a height of up to about five meters high. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-246
Title: Barra rock jetties Description: Region of the rock jetties where Santo Antônio dos Anjos lagoon reaches into the Atlantic Ocean. Behind it is possible seeing the Mar Grosso beach and Glory hill. North rock jetties have approximately 1,500 meters long, while the South rock jetties have 900 meters. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-274
Title: Detail of an old console table Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-097
Title: Commemorative plate of the 500th anniversary of the Treaty of Tordesillas Description: Tordesillas monument. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-035
Title: Car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-268
Title: Peter II of Brazil Description: Oil on canvas. Unknown author. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-173
Title: Detail of the Public Market entry columns (before revitalization) Description: Public Market is located in the city centre, and was inaugurated in 1958. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-043
Title: Portuguese architecture of Anita Garibaldi Museum Description: It was the first building erected for the foundation of the Village. Its construction took place in the year 1735. In the 18th century became the Town Hall and jail. It was the place where in 1839 was proclaimed the Republic of Santa Catarina. From 1949 became a museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-148
Title: Detail of the base of the sculpture of Our Lady of Glory Description: Built by the German sculptor Alfredo Staege, it was inaugurated on May 31, 1953. Considered the largest of its kind in Brazil, it is located in the Hill of Glory, which in the past was known as Atalaia Hill or Pau do Sinal, is the highest point of Laguna city (126 meters). This image is on a pedestal of 4 meters, having 10 meters high and 4.8 meters between the arms. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-119
Title: Ruins of the Atalaia Fort Description: Situated at the locality of Ponta da Barra, it was built in 1800. In the battle of November 15, 1839 the revolutionaries occupied the site that was a strategic point. There they installed their artillery and used it as ammunition depot. At that time Anita Garibaldi once again demonstrated her warrior worth crossing the Barra Channel numerous times, taking in a small rowboat ammunition and weapons during a full shooting. With the defeat of farroupilhas forces and the occupation of the Imperial forces later, the Imperial Army has improved the building damaged in the fighting and used it for many years until disable it in the late nineteenth century. In 1992 the remaining ruins were listed as historic archaeological site by IPHAN (National Institute of Historical and Artistic Heritage), a 140 m² located in private property. This fort was also known as Laguna Fort, Barra small Fort, Atalaia small Fort, or Barra Fortress. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-253
Title: Anita Garibaldi Description: Oil on canvas. Unknown author. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-168
Title: Detail of window of Candemil family house Description: It was built in the late 19th century as a house of a Portuguese farm style. In 1985 became the residence of the Candemil family, who left it at the end of the 80s. Currently it keeps the Municipal Public Archives. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-088
Title: Sacred Art Description: Pieces of the old chapel of St. Anthony (patron Saint of the city) and
the Rosário Chapel, which had its construction started in 1845 and was demolished in 1933; chapel whose fraternity consisted mostly of slaves. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-210
Title: Bible Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-068
Title: Detail of the car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-261
Title: Detail of window of the Anita's House Museum Description: Anita's House Museum is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-102
Title: 'The Death of Captain Mor Francisco de Brito Peixoto, 31 October 1735' Description: Oil on canvas, work of Willy Zumblick 1952. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-156
Title: Anita Garibaldi Bridge Description: Built over Laranjeiras Channel at the locality of Cabeçuda, this bridge with 2817 meters long, is the second largest cable-stayed one in Brazil; being the first curve cable-stayed bridge in the country. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-217
Title: Detail of door of the Anita's House Museum Description: Anita's House Museum is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-101
Title: 'Departure of João de Magalhães to Rio Grande do Sul lands' Description: Oil on canvas, work of Willy Zumblick 1956. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-153
Title: Ruins of the Atalaia Fort Description: Situated at the locality of Ponta da Barra, it was built in 1800. In the battle of November 15, 1839 the revolutionaries occupied the site that was a strategic point. There they installed their artillery and used it as ammunition depot. At that time Anita Garibaldi once again demonstrated her warrior worth crossing the Barra Channel numerous times, taking in a small rowboat ammunition and weapons during a full shooting. With the defeat of farroupilhas forces and the occupation of the Imperial forces later, the Imperial Army has improved the building damaged in the fighting and used it for many years until disable it in the late nineteenth century. In 1992 the remaining ruins were listed as historic archaeological site by IPHAN (National Institute of Historical and Artistic Heritage), a 140 m² located in private property. This fort was also known as Laguna Fort, Barra small Fort, Atalaia small Fort, or Barra Fortress. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-254
Title: Detail of the Cine Mussi architecture (before restoration) Description: Designed by the Swiss architect Wolfgang Ludwig Rau at the request of Mr. João Mussi, it began to be built on April 4, 1947 and was inaugurated in December 17, 1950, with the screening of the film: The Emperor Waltz. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-039
Title: Cannon and war ammunition Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-160
Title: Car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-267
Title: Details of Anita's House Museum Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-112
Title: Detail of the Portuguese architecture Description: Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-200
Title: Port of Laguna Description: Located in the Magalhães neighborhood, it has a berth of 300m long and 5m deep; being the maritime access channel of 1,950 m long, with 80 to 100 m wide. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-237
Title: Sign indicating the Campo Verde locatilty Description: Signaling at the edge of SC 100 highway. Campo Verde is a locality where there are lots of shell middens. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-241
Title: Coat of Arms of Laguna city Description: Authored by the Santa Catarina historian Alfonso d'Escragnolle Taunay, the Laguna city Coat of Arms was created in 1932 and consists of elements that refer to its history; that in the eighteenth century was the centre of colonial expansion into the West, South, towards the River Plate. The phrase in Latin: AD MERIDIEM BRASILIAN DVXI means To the South took the Brazil, is associated with this expansion process. Image in exhibition at Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-161
Title: Details of Anita Garibaldi Museum Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-177
Title: Parcial view of Prainha do Farol Description: Locality of Santa Marta Lighthouse. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-232
Title: Detail of Carniça I Shellmound Description: Situated in the locality of Campo Verde, about 14 km from the city centre, this shellmound originally had a base of approximately 400 meters and 70 meters wide, with an elevation of 30 meters high. For many years it was exploited by private persons in the manufacture of lime. Currently only left its base with a height of up to about five meters high. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-247
Title: Plaques of thanksgiving to Our Lady of Grace Description: These plates were placed by faithful people at the base of the sculpture of Our Lady of Grace. This monument was built by the German sculptor Alfredo Staege, it was inaugurated on May 31, 1953. Considered the largest of its kind in Brazil, it is located in the Hill of Glory, which in the past was known as Atalaia Hill or Pau do Sinal, is the highest point of Laguna city (126 meters). This image is on a pedestal of 4 meters, having 10 meters high and 4.8 meters between the arms. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-123
Title: Detail of the main table of the Juliana Republic Room Description: On July 29, 1839 was declared the Catarinense or Juliana Republic, named after CATHARINENSE FREE AND INDEPENDENT STATE (fact occurred in this room), in which the first president elected in a provisional was Father Vicente Ferreira dos Santos Cordeiro. The minutes of the special session was signed at this table and chaired by Councilman Tte. Francisco de Oliveira. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-185
Title: Space where are the ruins of the Atalaia Fort Description: Situated at the locality of Ponta da Barra, it was built in 1800. In the battle of November 15, 1839 the revolutionaries occupied the site that was a strategic point. There they installed their artillery and used it as ammunition depot. At that time Anita Garibaldi once again demonstrated her warrior worth crossing the Barra Channel numerous times, taking in a small rowboat ammunition and weapons during a full shooting. With the defeat of farroupilhas forces and the occupation of the Imperial forces later, the Imperial Army has improved the building damaged in the fighting and used it for many years until disable it in the late nineteenth century. In 1992 the remaining ruins were listed as historic archaeological site by IPHAN (National Institute of Historical and Artistic Heritage), a 140 m² located in private property. This fort was also known as Laguna Fort, Barra small Fort, Atalaia small Fort, or Barra Fortress. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-256
Title: Detail of the mast of the ship Seival Description: It belonged to one of the ships carried by Giuseppe Garibaldi from the interior of Rio Grande do Sul State for storming of Laguna city. Collection Museum Anita Garibaldi. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-205
Title: Our Lady of Glory Description: Built by the German sculptor Alfredo Staege, it was inaugurated on May 31, 1953. Considered the largest of its kind in Brazil, it is located in the Hill of Glory, which in the past was known as Atalaia Hill or Pau do Sinal, is the highest point of Laguna city (126 meters). This image is on a pedestal of 4 meters, having 10 meters high and 4.8 meters between the arms. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-118
Title: Old house Description: Historic centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-184
Title: Dona Tereza Cristina railroad bridge Description: Situated in the locality of Cabeçuda over the Imaruí Lagoon, it was inaugurated in 1882. It is the largest iron bridge in Brazil, with a structure of 1,460 meters long. It was used to transport coal and passengers. It has been disabled in 1934 with the construction of a new bridge. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/03/2012
Nº 009-007
Title: Old door lock Description: Anita'a House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-196
Title: Kerosene lamp Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-163
Title: Peter II of Brazil Description: Oil on canvas. Unknown author. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-179
Title: Pinto D'Ulyssea House garden Description: Built in 1866, inspired by a Portuguese farm, covered with Portuguese tiles, is a rare example of Luso-Brazilian architecture. It was an important farm house, the first to own platband in the city. This important building, tumbled by the National Historic and Artistic Heritage - IPHAN, belonged to Joaquim José Pinto d'Ulyssea; and currently holds the Garibaldino Collection of Wolfgang Ludwig Rau. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-142
Title: Anita Garibaldi Monument Description: Ana Maria de Jesus Ribeiro (Anita Garibaldi) was born on August 30, 1821 in Laguna. She was daughter of Maria Antonia de Jesus and the merchant Bento da Silva, a Portuguese family from Azores. Side by side with her husband Giuseppe Garibaldi, participated in Brazil and Italy in various battles: Farroupilha Revolution, Battle of Curitibanos and the Battle of Gianicolo. Courageous and determined, she was known as "Heroine of Two Worlds". She had three children and died in Italy on August 4, 1849. The author of this work is the sculptor Antônio Caringi (1905-1981), born in the city of Pelotas, State of Rio Grande do Sul. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-146
Title: Detail of chairs Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-100
Title: 9th Station of the Cross: Jesus falls the third time Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-055
Title: Decorative Art of the Church Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-075
Title: Mooring Buoy Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-020
Title: Sink of holy water Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-052
Title: Detail of left side altar Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-060
Title: Anita Garibaldi Monument Description: Ana Maria de Jesus Ribeiro (Anita Garibaldi) was born on August 30, 1821 in Laguna. She was daughter of Maria Antonia de Jesus and the merchant Bento da Silva, a Portuguese family from Azores. Side by side with her husband Giuseppe Garibaldi, participated in Brazil and Italy in various battles: Farroupilha Revolution, Battle of Curitibanos and the Battle of Gianicolo. Courageous and determined, she was known as "Heroine of Two Worlds". She had three children and died in Italy on August 4, 1849. The author of this work is the sculptor Antônio Caringi (1905-1981), born in the city of Pelotas, State of Rio Grande do Sul. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-145
Title: North Laguna small lighthouse Description: This small lighthouse is located at the end of the North jetties, next to Mar Grosso beach. It was inaugurated on June 11, 1891 and has the following characteristics: height of 13 meters, geographic reach of 11 nautical miles, luminous range of 5 nautical miles, light intensity of 45 candelas. Latitude: 28º 29.67' S and longitude: 48º 44.86' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-279
Title: Old house Description: Historic centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-077
Title: Pinto D'Ulyssea House Description: Built in 1866, inspired by a Portuguese farm, covered with Portuguese tiles, is a rare example of Luso-Brazilian architecture. It was an important farm house, the first to own platband in the city. This important building, tumbled by the National Historic and Artistic Heritage - IPHAN, belonged to Joaquim José Pinto d'Ulyssea; and currently holds the Garibaldino Collection of Wolfgang Ludwig Rau. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-140
Title: Detail of the car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-262
Title: Speedboat garage Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-027
Title: Pylons of the Dona Tereza Cristina railroad bridge Description: Situated in the locality of Cabeçuda of Cabeçuda over the Imaruí Lagoon, this bridge was inaugurated in 1882. It is the largest iron bridge in Brazil, with a structure of 1,460 meters long. It was used to transport coal and passengers. It has been disabled in 1934 with the construction of a new bridge. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/03/2012
Nº 009-008
Title: Anchored boat Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-024
Title: Car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-266
Title: Old building Description: Public Market (before revitalization). It is located in the city centre, and was inaugurated in 1958. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-041
Title: Anita Garibaldi Description: Oil on canvas, by João Rodrigues, an artist from Santa Catarina State. Collection of Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-197
Title: Island of the Imaruí lagoon Description: View from the Glory Hill. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-128
Title: Historic centre Description: Panoramic view of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-129
Title: Detail of an old console table Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-109
Title: Pier detail Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-031
Title: Santa Marta Lighthouse Description: IIt was built by the French and inaugurated on 11 June 1891. In its construction were used: stone, sand, clay and whale oil. It is considered the largest lighthouse in the Americas and the third in the world in reach. It is located in a cape with the same name, 17 km from the city centre, on a small promontory with 45 meters high. It has 29 meters high and its light reaches a length of 46 nautical miles, about 85 kilometers. Latitude 28º 36.23' S and longitude 15" S 48º 48.76' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-235
Title: Detail of Dona Tereza Cristina railroad bridge Description: Situated in the locality of Cabeçuda over the Imaruí Lagoon, it was inaugurated in 1882. It is the largest iron bridge in Brazil, with a structure of 1,460 meters long. It was used to transport coal and passengers. It has been disabled in 1934 with the construction of a new bridge. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/03/2012
Nº 009-017
Title: Detail of side altar Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-056
Title: Gi beach Description: View from the Friar Stone. It has 6 km long. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-116
Title: Pitcher and Bowl Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-166
Title: Old decorative objects Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-172
Title: Anchored boat Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-022
Title:Cine Mussi Description: Designed by the Swiss architect Wolfgang Ludwig Rau at the request of Mr. João Mussi, it began to be built on April 4, 1947 and was inaugurated in December 17, 1950, with the screening of the film: The Emperor Waltz. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-216
Title: Our Lady of Lourdes Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-074
Title: Panoramic view Description: Community of Santa Marta Lighthouse. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-222
Title: Old decorative objects Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-169
Title: Sand dunes Description: Dunes located near to Santa Marta Lighthouse . Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-221
Title: Chamber pots Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-176
Title: Anita's House Museum Description: This house was built in 1711. It is currently the museum with a collection that resembles the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-095
Title: Dona Tereza Cristina railroad Description: Situated in the locality of Cabeçuda, it was inaugurated in 1882, and was used to transport coal and passengers. It has been disabled in 1934 with the construction of a new bridge. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 08/02/2015
Nº 009-188
Title: Sacred Art Description: Piece of the main altar of the Rosário Chapel, which had its construction started in 1845 and was demolished in 1933; chapel whose fraternity consisted mostly of slaves. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-209
Title: Old sewing machine Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-103
Title: Stone floor of the Museum Description: Anita's House Museum is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-113
Title: Detail of the car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-259
Title: Anchored canoe Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-021
Title: Detail of the structure of Dona Tereza Cristina railroad bridge Description: Situated in the locality of Cabeçuda over the Imaruí Lagoon, this bridge was inaugurated in 1882. It is the largest iron bridge in Brazil, with a structure of 1,460 meters long. It was used to transport coal and passengers. It has been disabled in 1934 with the construction of a new bridge. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/02/2012
Nº 009-010
Title: Santa Marta Lighthouse Description: It was built by the French and inaugurated on 11 June 1891. In its construction were used: stone, sand, clay and whale oil. It is considered the largest lighthouse in the Americas and the third in the world in reach. It is located in a cape with the same name, 17 km from the city centre, on a small promontory with 45 meters high. It has 29 meters high and its light reaches a length of 46 nautical miles, about 85 kilometers. Latitude 28º 36.23' S and longitude 15" S 48º 48.76' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-236
Title: Detail of the facade of the Church Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-065
Title: Detail of the car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-258
Title: Parcial view of Prainha do Farol Description: Locality of Santa Marta Lighthouse. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-231
Title: Glory hill Description: Glory hill seen from the locality of Ponta da Barra. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-239
Title: Detail of Carniça I Shellmound Description: Situated in the locality of Campo Verde, about 14 km from the city centre, this shellmound originally had a base of approximately 400 meters and 70 meters wide, with an elevation of 30 meters high. For many years it was exploited by private persons in the manufacture of lime. Currently only left its base with a height of up to about five meters high. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-242
Title: Atalaia hill, place of the ruins of the Atalaia Fort Description: Situated at the locality of Ponta da Barra, it was built in 1800. In the battle of November 15, 1839 the revolutionaries occupied the site that was a strategic point. There they installed their artillery and used it as ammunition depot. At that time Anita Garibaldi once again demonstrated her warrior worth crossing the Barra Channel numerous times, taking in a small rowboat ammunition and weapons during a full shooting. With the defeat of farroupilhas forces and the occupation of the Imperial forces later, the Imperial Army has improved the building damaged in the fighting and used it for many years until disable it in the late nineteenth century. In 1992 the remaining ruins were listed as historic archaeological site by IPHAN (National Institute of Historical and Artistic Heritage), a 140 m² located in private property. This fort was also known as Laguna Fort, Barra small Fort, Atalaia small Fort, or Barra Fortress. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-251
Title: Window of the house of Rincão street Description: It was at this Luso-Brazilian building that Anita Garibaldi lived with her family from 1835 to 1839, when she was 14 until her 18 years old. The original facade had half door and window. Currently the Rincão street is called Fernando Machado street. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-093
Title: Detail of Carniça I Shellmound Description: Situated in the locality of Campo Verde, about 14 km from the city centre, this shellmound originally had a base of approximately 400 meters and 70 meters wide, with an elevation of 30 meters high. For many years it was exploited by private persons in the manufacture of lime. Currently only left its base with a height of up to about five meters high. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-245
Title: Waves Description: Waves formed in the region of the rock jetties, where Santo Antônio dos Anjos lagoon reaches into the Atlantic Ocean. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-271
Title: Anita Garibaldi Description: Oil on canvas by Willy Zumblick. Collection of Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-191
Title: 'The Death of Sebastian de Brito War, surprised by the Indian Mission of Uruguay' Description: Oil on canvas, work of Willy Zumblick 1956. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-157
Title: Old decorative objects Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-192
Title: North Laguna small lighthouse Description: This small lighthouse is located at the end of the North jetties, next to Mar Grosso beach, and has a viewpoint. It was inaugurated on June 11, 1891 and has the following characteristics: height of 13 meters, geographic reach of 11 nautical miles, luminous range of 5 nautical miles, light intensity of 45 candelas. Latitude: 28º 29.67' S and longitude: 48º 44.86' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-280
Title: Anita Garibaldi Historical Museum Description: Anita Garibaldi Historical Museum is located in this building since July 31, 1949. It has a collection composed of pieces related to the socio-cultural history of Laguna city, as well, great archaeological pieces found in shell middens in the region. Its construction was started in 1735 and completed in the eighteenth century. It has its foundation made of sand, clay, stones and whale oil. It once housed on the top floor the City Council, and on the ground the Body of the Municipal Guard. Was in the building that was proclaimed on July 29, 1839 the Santa Catarina Republic (or Republic Juliana). Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-186
Title: Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception Description: Oil on canvas. Unknown author. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-180
Title: Detail of the Cine Mussi architecture (before restoration) Description: Designed by the Swiss architect Wolfgang Ludwig Rau at the request of Mr. João Mussi, it began to be built on April 4, 1947 and was inaugurated in December 17, 1950, with the screening of the film: The Emperor Waltz. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-038
Title: Old house Description: Historic centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-081
Title: Car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-265
Title: Pier detail Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-028
Title: Pinto D'Ulyssea House Description: Built in 1866, inspired by a Portuguese farm, covered with Portuguese tiles, is a rare example of Luso-Brazilian architecture. It was an important farm house, the first to own platband in the city. This important building, tumbled by the National Historic and Artistic Heritage - IPHAN, belonged to Joaquim José Pinto d'Ulyssea; and currently holds the Garibaldino Collection of Wolfgang Ludwig Rau. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-143
Title: Details of Anita's House Museum Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-106
Title: Swords and helmets of wars Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-155
Title: Santa Marta Chapel interior Description: It was built in 1946 by Brazil Navy. It has 38 square meters and is located on the same promontory of Santa Marta Lighthouse. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-228
Title: Gi beach Description: Gi beach seen from Laguna Tourist Hotel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 03/11/2006
Nº 009-005
Title: Old decorative objects Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-170
Title: Bell of Anita Garibaldi Museum Description: It was the first building erected for the foundation of the Village. Its construction took place in the year 1735. In the 18th century became the Town Hall and jail. It was the place where in 1839 was proclaimed the Republic of Santa Catarina. From 1949 became a museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-150
Title: View of Mar Grosso beach from the place where are the ruins of the Atalaia Fort Description: Atalaia Fort ruins are situated in the locality of Ponta da Barra, it was built in 1800. In the battle of November 15, 1839 the revolutionaries occupied the site that was a strategic point. There they installed their artillery and used it as ammunition depot. At that time Anita Garibaldi once again demonstrated her warrior worth crossing the Barra Channel numerous times, taking in a small rowboat ammunition and weapons during a full shooting. With the defeat of farroupilhas forces and the occupation of the Imperial forces later, the Imperial Army has improved the building damaged in the fighting and used it for many years until disable it in the late nineteenth century. In 1992 the remaining ruins were listed as historic archaeological site by IPHAN (National Institute of Historical and Artistic Heritage), a 140 m² located in private property. This fort was also known as Laguna Fort, Barra small Fort, Atalaia small Fort, or Barra Fortress. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-255
Title: Sand dunes Description: Dunes located near to Santa Marta Lighthouse . Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-220
Title: Friar Stone Description: This rock formation with nine meters high is constituted by the juxtaposition of two stones, which are supported on an inclined surface in just three or four points, challenging the Law of Gravity. According to researchers there are two hypotheses for its existence: one in which it would have been made by prehistoric Indians who inhabited the region for more of three thousand years ago; or it would have been the landmark of the Treaty of Tordesillas. It received this name because of its similarity with a face of a Franciscan priest. It is located on the edge of Gi beach. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-114
Title: Old building Description: Historic centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-083
Title: Detail of the Cine Mussi architecture (before restoration) Description: Designed by the Swiss architect Wolfgang Ludwig Rau at the request of Mr. João Mussi, it began to be built on April 4, 1947 and was inaugurated in December 17, 1950, with the screening of the film: The Emperor Waltz. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-040
Title: Kerosene lamps Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-162
Title: Panoramic view of Mar Grosso beach Description: View from Our Lady of Glory viewpoint. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-126
Title: Interior of the Church Description: Interior of St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-059
Title: Sacred Art Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-073
Title: Detail of Anita Garibaldi Monument Description: Ana Maria de Jesus Ribeiro (Anita Garibaldi) was born on August 30, 1821 in Laguna. She was daughter of Maria Antonia de Jesus and the merchant Bento da Silva, a Portuguese family from Azores. Side by side with her husband Giuseppe Garibaldi, participated in Brazil and Italy in various battles: Farroupilha Revolution, Battle of Curitibanos and the Battle of Gianicolo. Courageous and determined, she was known as "Heroine of Two Worlds". She had three children and died in Italy on August 4, 1849. The author of this work is the sculptor Antônio Caringi (1905-1981), born in the city of Pelotas, State of Rio Grande do Sul. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/02/2012
Nº 009-147
Title: Old clothes irons Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-174
Title: Old decorative objects Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-171
Title: Detail of the main altar Description: Carved by Antonio José de Santai in 1803.St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-071
Title: Church aspects Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-050
Title: Detail of the Cine Mussi architecture Description: Designed by the Swiss architect Wolfgang Ludwig Rau at the request of Mr. João Mussi, it began to be built on April 4, 1947 and was inaugurated in December 17, 1950, with the screening of the film: The Emperor Waltz. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-215
Title: Tamborete beach Description: It is situated between the South jetties and the Atalaia hill, in the locality of Ponta da Barra. According to the locals the name 'Tamborete' (a kind of tambourine, in Portuguese) is due to the number of similar stones with drums that exist in this beach. In 1839 in this region occurred the battle between the imperialists and farroupilhas in the historic episode of Laguna Republic. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-275
Title: Anita Garibaldi Description: Oil on canvas from 1943, the work of the Brazilian painter Sobragil Gomes Carollo. Born in Alegrete in 1896, studied at the National School of Fine Arts in Rio de Janeiro, and later in Paris, France. Collection of the Headquarters of the General Command of the Military Police of Santa Catarina. Local: Florianópolis, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/05/2012
Nº 009-115
Title: Old houses Description: Historic centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-082
Title: Pinto D'Ulyssea House Description: Built in 1866, inspired by a Portuguese farm, covered with Portuguese tiles, is a rare example of Luso-Brazilian architecture. It was an important farm house, the first to own platband in the city. This important building, tumbled by the National Historic and Artistic Heritage - IPHAN, belonged to Joaquim José Pinto d'Ulyssea; and currently holds the Garibaldino Collection of Wolfgang Ludwig Rau. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-138
Title: Detail of the pier steps Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-029
Title: Domingos de Brito Peixoto monument Description: Founded the Vila de Santo Antônio dos Anjos de Laguna on July 29, 1676. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-034
Title: Details of Anita's House Museum Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-104
Title: Old chest Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-175
Title: Pier steps Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-030
Title: Detail of a chain of the car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-257
Title: Anchored boat Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-023
Title: Printing press Description: Printing press used by Jerônimo Coelho for printing the first newspaper of Santa Catarina State: "O Catharinense" of 28 July 1831. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-207
Title: Detail of the structure of Dona Tereza Cristina railroad bridge Description: Situated in the locality of Cabeçuda over the Imaruí Lagoon, this bridge was inaugurated in 1882. It is the largest iron bridge in Brazil, with a structure of 1,460 meters long. It was used to transport coal and passengers. It has been disabled in 1934 with the construction of a new bridge. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/03/2012
Nº 009-011
Title: Detail of the Public Market (before revitalization) Description: Public Market is located in the city centre, and was inaugurated in 1958. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-044
Title: Drawer Description: Detail of an old cabinet. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-208
Title: Detail of Carioca fountain Description: It was built in 1863 and expanded in 1906. According to historians it was the water from this place that led to the location of the city by its founder. Until today the population uses this water to drink. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-136
Title: Anchored boat Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-025
Title: St. Anthony patron of the city Description: This sculpture was carved by Antonio José de Santai in 1803. It lies on the main altar of the St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-066
Title: Fisherman Description: Fishing at Imaruí Lagoon, locality of Cabeçuda. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/02/2012
Nº 009-013
Title: Pier detail Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-033
Title: Kerosene lamps Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-165
Title: Waves Description: Waves formed in the region of the rock jetties, where Santo Antônio dos Anjos lagoon reaches into the Atlantic Ocean. Sometimes it is possible viewing porpoises (dolphins), as in this image. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-272
Title: Pitcher and Bowl Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-108
Title: Friar Stone Description: This rock formation with nine meters high is constituted by the juxtaposition of two stones, which are supported on an inclined surface in just three or four points, challenging the Law of Gravity. According to researchers there are two hypotheses for its existence: one in which it would have been made by prehistoric Indians who inhabited the region for more of three thousand years ago; or it would have been the landmark of the Treaty of Tordesillas. It received this name because of its similarity with a face of a Franciscan priest. It is located on the edge of Gi beach. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 03/11/2006
Nº 009-001
Title: Detail of Carniça I Shellmound Description: Situated in the locality of Campo Verde, about 14 km from the city centre, this shellmound originally had a base of approximately 400 meters and 70 meters wide, with an elevation of 30 meters high. For many years it was exploited by private persons in the manufacture of lime. Currently only left its base with a height of up to about five meters high. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-243
Title: Window Description: Museu Anita Garibaldi architecture style. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-181
Title: Giuseppe Garibaldi Description: Oil on canvas 1861, by A. Enigman. Collection of Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-195
Title: Kerosene lamp Description: Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-164
Title:Bromelia balansae Description: Flora found at Gi beach. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 03/11/2006
Nº 009-006
Title: Pier scenes Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-019
Title: Jerônimo Francisco Coelho Description: This work of 1858 belongs to the Anita Garibaldi Museum collection, designed by the French artist Sébastien Auguste Sisson. This work portrays the journalist, military and political Jerônimo Francisco Coelho, born in Laguna on September 30, 1806, who edited the first newspaper of Santa Catarina State: "The Catharinense" on July 28, 1831. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-211
Title: South Laguna small lighthouse Description: This small lighthouse is located at the end of the South jetties, next to Tamborete beach. It was inaugurated on August 3, 2003 and has the following characteristics: height of 5 meters, geographic reach of 11 nautical miles, luminous range of 7 nautical miles, light intensity of 184 candelas. Latitude: 28º 29.74' S and longitude: 48º 44.74' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-278
Title: South Laguna small lighthouse Description: This small lighthouse is located at the end of the South jetties, next to Tamborete beach. It was inaugurated on August 3, 2003 and has the following characteristics: height of 5 meters, geographic reach of 11 nautical miles, luminous range of 7 nautical miles, light intensity of 184 candelas. Latitude: 28º 29.74' S and longitude: 48º 44.74' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-276
Title: Detail of Dona Tereza Cristina railroad bridge Description: Situated in the locality of Cabeçuda over the Imaruí Lagoon, it was inaugurated in 1882. It is the largest iron bridge in Brazil, with a structure of 1,460 meters long. It was used to transport coal and passengers. It has been disabled in 1934 with the construction of a new bridge. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/03/2012
Nº 009-016
Title: Friar Stone Description: This rock formation with nine meters high is constituted by the juxtaposition of two stones, which are supported on an inclined surface in just three or four points, challenging the Law of Gravity. According to researchers there are two hypotheses for its existence: one in which it would have been made by prehistoric Indians who inhabited the region for more of three thousand years ago; or it would have been the landmark of the Treaty of Tordesillas. It received this name because of its similarity with a face of a Franciscan priest. It is located on the edge of Gi beach. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 03/11/2006
Nº 009-003
Title: 6th Station of the Cross: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-054
Title: 'Anita at the Fountain' Description: Oil on canvas of Anita Garibaldi, an heroine from Santa Catarina State, by Martinho de Haro. Collection of Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-201
Title: City scenes Description: City centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-048
Title: Water sports on the Imaruí Lagoon Description: In the background Dona Tereza Cristina railroad bridge and the locality of Cabeçuda. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/09/2010
Nº 009-015
Title: Old tea set Description: Collection of Anita`s House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-194
Title: Ring the pier Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-018
Title: Architecture Description: Historic centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-078
Title: Facade of the Public Market (before revitalization) Description: Public Market is located in the city centre, and was inaugurated in 1958. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-046
Title: Paintings on the ceiling of the Church Description: Paintings with the following information: Hic Domus Dei est (This is the House of God), e Et Porta Coeli (And the Door to Heaven). St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-049
Title: South Laguna small lighthouse Description: This small lighthouse is located at the end of the South jetties, next to Tamborete beach. It was inaugurated on August 3, 2003 and has the following characteristics: height of 5 meters, geographic reach of 11 nautical miles, luminous range of 7 nautical miles, light intensity of 184 candelas. Latitude: 28º 29.74' S and longitude: 48º 44.74' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-277
Title: Faucets of the Carioca fountain Description:Carioca fountain was built in 1863 and expanded in 1906. According to historians it was the water from this place that led to the location of the city by its founder. Until today the population uses this water to drink. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-135
Title: Gi beach Description: Gi beach seen from Laguna Tourist Hotel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 03/11/2006
Nº 009-004
Title: Door of the house of Rincão street Description: It was at this Luso-Brazilian building that Anita Garibaldi lived with her family from 1835 to 1839, when she was 14 until her 18 years old. The original facade had half door and window. Currently the Rincão street is called Fernando Machado street. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-094
Title: Window with wooden railing of the old prison (currently the Anita Garibaldi Museum) Description: It was the first building erected for the foundation of the Village. Its construction took place in the year 1735. In the 18th century became the Town Hall and jail. It was the place where in 1839 was proclaimed the Republic of Santa Catarina. From 1949 became a museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-152
Title: Tiles of the Pinto D'Ulyssea House Description: Built in 1866, inspired by a Portuguese farm, covered with Portuguese tiles, is a rare example of Luso-Brazilian architecture. It was an important farm house, the first to own platband in the city. This important building, tumbled by the National Historic and Artistic Heritage - IPHAN, belonged to Joaquim José Pinto d'Ulyssea; and currently holds the Garibaldino Collection of Wolfgang Ludwig Rau. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-144
Title: Portuguese architecture Description: Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-187
Title: Historic centre Description: Partial view of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-130
Title: Main altar Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-061
Title: Window of Pinto D'Ulyssea House Description: Built in 1866, inspired by a Portuguese farm, covered with Portuguese tiles, is a rare example of Luso-Brazilian architecture. It was an important farm house, the first to own platband in the city. This important building, tumbled by the National Historic and Artistic Heritage - IPHAN, and belonged to Joaquim José Pinto d'Ulyssea; and currently holds the Garibaldino Collection of Wolfgang Ludwig Rau. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-139
Title: Tordesillas monument Description: Monument sculpted by the artist Angelino Antunes, from Laguna city. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-037
Title: Detail of an old console table Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-110
Title: Santa Marta Lighthouse Description: It was built by the French and inaugurated on 11 June 1891. In its construction were used: stone, sand, clay and whale oil. It is considered the largest lighthouse in the Americas and the third in the world in reach. It is located in a cape with the same name, 17 km from the city centre, on a small promontory with 45 meters high. It has 29 meters high and its light reaches a length of 46 nautical miles, about 85 kilometers. Latitude 28º 36.23' S and longitude 15" S 48º 48.76' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-234
Title: Church aspects Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-051
Title: Old sewing machine Description: It would have been made in this sewing machine the first wedding dress Ana Maria de Jesus Ribeiro. Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-199
Title: Jetties where the Imaruí lagoon flows into the sea Description: View from Our Lady of Glory viewpoint. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-127
Title: Port of Laguna Description: Located in the Magalhães neighborhood, it has a berth of 300m long and 5m deep; being the maritime access channel of 1,950 m long, with 80 to 100 m wide. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-238
Title: Pillory Description: Log of wood where slaves were tied and received inhuman punishment. Usually remained in squares and public places. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-154
Title: Mast of the ship Seival Description: It belonged to one of the ships carried by Giuseppe Garibaldi from the interior of Rio Grande do Sul State for storming of Laguna city. Collection Museum Anita Garibaldi. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-204
Title: Sign indicating the Tordesillas monument Description: Tordesillas monument. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-036
Title: Candemil family house Description: It was built in the late 19th century as a house of a Portuguese farm style. In 1985 became the residence of the Candemil family, who left it at the end of the 80s. Currently it keeps the Municipal Public Archives. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-085
Title: Atalaia hill, place of the ruins of the Atalaia Fort Description: Situated at the locality of Ponta da Barra, it was built in 1800. In the battle of November 15, 1839 the revolutionaries occupied the site that was a strategic point. There they installed their artillery and used it as ammunition depot. At that time Anita Garibaldi once again demonstrated her warrior worth crossing the Barra Channel numerous times, taking in a small rowboat ammunition and weapons during a full shooting. With the defeat of farroupilhas forces and the occupation of the Imperial forces later, the Imperial Army has improved the building damaged in the fighting and used it for many years until disable it in the late nineteenth century. In 1992 the remaining ruins were listed as historic archaeological site by IPHAN (National Institute of Historical and Artistic Heritage), a 140 m² located in private property. This fort was also known as Laguna Fort, Barra small Fort, Atalaia small Fort, or Barra Fortress. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-250
Title: Sign indicating the Santa Marta Lighthouse Description: Signaling at the edge of SC 100 highway. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-219
Title: Architecture Description: Historic centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-080
Title: Old decorative objects Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-189
Title: 'The Proclamation of Santa Catarina Republic, July 29, 1839' Description: Oil on canvas, work of Willy Zumblick 1956. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-167
Title: Detail of Cemetery Description: Cemetery located on a small promontory of Santa Marta Lighthouse, next to Santa Marta Chapel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-223
Title: Posterior view of Santa Marta Chapel Description: It was built in 1946 by Brazil Navy. It has 38 square meters and is located on the same promontory of Santa Marta Lighthouse. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-225
Title: Detail of Carioca fountain Description: It was built in 1863 and expanded in 1906. According to historians it was the water from this place that led to the location of the city by its founder. Until today the population uses this water to drink. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-133
Title: Trunks Description: Used in travel ships of the Italian immigrants. Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-096
Title: Sanctuary lamp Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-072
Title: Details of Anita's House Museum Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-105
Title: 'Anita's Death' Description: Oil on canvas, by A. Peixoto, 1935. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-158
Title:Carioca fountain Description: It was built in 1863 and expanded in 1906. According to historians it was the water from this place that led to the location of the city by its founder. Until today the population uses this water to drink. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-131
Title: Description: Copy of the first journal of Santa Catarina State: "The Catharinense" of 28 July 1831. Collection of Anita Garibaldi Museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-206
Title: Detail of Candemil family house Description: It was built in the late 19th century as a house of a Portuguese farm style. In 1985 became the residence of the Candemil family, who left it at the end of the 80s. Currently it keeps the Municipal Public Archives. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-086
Title: Window with wooden railing of the old prison (currently the Anita Garibaldi Museum) Description: It was the first building erected for the foundation of the Village. Its construction took place in the year 1735. In the 18th century became the Town Hall and jail. It was the place where in 1839 was proclaimed the Republic of Santa Catarina. From 1949 became a museum. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/11/2014
Nº 009-151
Title: Detail of Anita Garibaldi bridge structure Description: Detail of central span during the junction finalization of the interconnection of the two cable-stayed towers. Built over Laranjeiras Channel at the locality of Cabeçuda, this bridge with 2817 meters long, is the second largest cable-stayed one in Brazil; being the first curve cable-stayed bridge in the country. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-218
Title: Detail of Dona Tereza Cristina railroad bridge Description: Situated in the locality of Cabeçuda over the Imaruí Lagoon, it was inaugurated in 1882. It is the largest iron bridge in Brazil, with a structure of 1,460 meters long. It was used to transport coal and passengers. It has been disabled in 1934 with the construction of a new bridge. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/03/2012
Nº 009-009
Title: Church outside Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-064
Title: House of Rincão street Description: It was at this Luso-Brazilian building that Anita Garibaldi lived with her family from 1835 to 1839, when she was 14 until her 18 years old. The original facade had half door and window. Currently the Rincão street is called Fernando Machado street. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-092
Title: Detail of the Cine Mussi architecture Description: Designed by the Swiss architect Wolfgang Ludwig Rau at the request of Mr. João Mussi, it began to be built on April 4, 1947 and was inaugurated in December 17, 1950, with the screening of the film: The Emperor Waltz. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 05/03/2015
Nº 009-214
Title: Detail of the car ferry Description: Car ferries do interconnection between the neighborhoods of Magalhães and Ponta da Barra crossing 1 km by the channel. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-260
Title: Detail of the building of Santa Marta Lighthouse Description: It was built by the French and inaugurated on 11 June 1891. In its construction were used: stone, sand, clay and whale oil. It is considered the largest lighthouse in the Americas and the third in the world in reach. It is located in a cape with the same name, 17 km from the city centre, on a small promontory with 45 meters high. It has 29 meters high and its light reaches a length of 46 nautical miles, about 85 kilometers. Latitude 28º 36.23' S and longitude 15" S 48º 48.76' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-233
Title: View from the altar Description: Interior of St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-058
Title: Boat on Imaruí Lagoon Description: Locality of Cabeçuda. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 11/03/2012
Nº 009-014
Title: Details of Anita's House Museum Description: Collection of Anita's House Museum, which is located in the Historical Center in a house built in 1711. This Museum contains objects and utensils that resemble the trajectory of Anita Garibaldi (1821-1849) and her romance with Giuseppe Garibaldi. It was in this house that Anita dressed for her first wedding in 1835, with the shoemaker Manuel Duarte Aguiar. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-111
Title: Ruins of the Atalaia Fort Description: Situated at the locality of Ponta da Barra, it was built in 1800. In the battle of November 15, 1839 the revolutionaries occupied the site that was a strategic point. There they installed their artillery and used it as ammunition depot. At that time Anita Garibaldi once again demonstrated her warrior worth crossing the Barra Channel numerous times, taking in a small rowboat ammunition and weapons during a full shooting. With the defeat of farroupilhas forces and the occupation of the Imperial forces later, the Imperial Army has improved the building damaged in the fighting and used it for many years until disable it in the late nineteenth century. In 1992 the remaining ruins were listed as historic archaeological site by IPHAN (National Institute of Historical and Artistic Heritage), a 140 m² located in private property. This fort was also known as Laguna Fort, Barra small Fort, Atalaia small Fort, or Barra Fortress. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-252
Title: General view of Carniça I Shellmound Description: Situated in the locality of Campo Verde, about 14 km from the city centre, this shellmound originally had a base of approximately 400 meters and 70 meters wide, with an elevation of 30 meters high. For many years it was exploited by private persons in the manufacture of lime. Currently only left its base with a height of up to about five meters high. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-249
Title: Parcial view of Vitória village Description: Vitória village seen from the locality of Ponta da Barra. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-240
Title: Our Lady of Aparecida Description: St. Anthony of Angels Church which was built in 1735. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-069
Title: North Laguna small lighthouse Description: This small lighthouse is located at the end of the North jetties, next to Mar Grosso beach. It was inaugurated on June 11, 1891 and has the following characteristics: height of 13 meters, geographic reach of 11 nautical miles, luminous range of 5 nautical miles, light intensity of 45 candelas. Latitude: 28º 29.67' S and longitude: 48º 44.86' W. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-270
Title: Detail of Carniça I Shellmound Description: Situated in the locality of Campo Verde, about 14 km from the city centre, this shellmound originally had a base of approximately 400 meters and 70 meters wide, with an elevation of 30 meters high. For many years it was exploited by private persons in the manufacture of lime. Currently only left its base with a height of up to about five meters high. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 07/02/2015
Nº 009-248
Title: Santa Marta Chapel Description: It was built in 1946 by Brazil Navy. It has 38 square meters and is located on the same promontory of Santa Marta Lighthouse. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 23/01/2015
Nº 009-229
Title: Side door of the Public Market (before revitalization) Description: Public Market is located in the city centre, and was inaugurated in 1958. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-045
Title: Pier detail Description: Pier of the city centre. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 12/08/2012
Nº 009-032
Title: Friar Stone Description: This rock formation with nine meters high is constituted by the juxtaposition of two stones, which are supported on an inclined surface in just three or four points, challenging the Law of Gravity. According to researchers there are two hypotheses for its existence: one in which it would have been made by prehistoric Indians who inhabited the region for more of three thousand years ago; or it would have been the landmark of the Treaty of Tordesillas. It received this name because of its similarity with a face of a Franciscan priest. It is located on the edge of Gi beach. Local: Laguna, Brazil Date of Registration: 03/11/2006